Summer 6 Newsletter - Reception

Our Summer 6 topic is called… ‘All about Animals’
Welcome back everybody. We hope you have all had a lovely break and are looking forward to our new topic all about Animals.

During this topic we will be looking at different animals that live around the world, their habitats and the impact that humans have on them.

We are also really looking forward to the World Cup and will be celebrating this during Week 4. Reception classes have been given a country each. Hedgehogs are following Germany and Kingfishers are following Portugal. Each class will be exploring their country and finding out about their traditions and ways of life. We will also be tasting local foods.

world animals

Each week will have a different focus these are:

Week 1 Our pets
Week 2 Pets and Vets
Week 3 The Three Little Pigs
Week 4 World Cup Week
Week 5 Transition Week
Week 6 Woodland animals
Week 7 Jungle animals

 

Literacy
We will be looking at a range of texts through Literacy including fiction and non-fiction and the children will practise reading for understanding much more independently.
We will consolidate our phonics knowledge and practise applying this in our writing. Please support your children at home as much as you can with their writing. If you are unsure how to help please ask your class teacher. We will also begin writing our own short stories based on some traditional tales.

Maths
The children have a really good understanding of number now. During this half term we will develop children’s problem solving skills so that they feel confident applying their skills. We will be doubling and halving, adding and subtracting as well as revisiting our shapes and their properties.

 

Exciting things that will be happening…
Monday 4th June - Whole School Inset Day.
Tuesday 12th June – Hedgehog’s trip to Pets at Home
Thursday 14th June – Kingfisher’s trip to Pets at Home
Friday 15th June – Man Friday
Wednesday 20th June – Sports Day
Monday 25th June – Dress up for the World Cup
Friday 29th June – Healthy Living Day – children can come to school in active wear.
Saturday 30th June – School Summer Fair 2-4pm
Monday 2nd – Friday 6th July- Transition week – children will spend the week in their new classes.
Monday 9th July – Mad Science Day
Thursday 19th July – Children break up for the summer holidays.
Friday 20th July – Inset Day – school closed